Folly and exploration around and about the work of Dany Laferrière


With Le Cri des oiseaux fous, the Quasar saxophone quartet pursues a wild ride in the world of creation and improvisation. Reading two of Dany Laferrière's novels, Le Cri des oiseaux fous and L’Énigme du retour, captivated Jean-Marc Bouchard to such an extent that he decided to draw inspiration and pay homage to them in music. It is true that, in the eye of an improviser, some of the author's phrases can't go by unnoticed. If only this: When you don't know where you are going, all roads are good.

In this journey, where written music, improvisation and electronic processing all work together, Quasar teams up with Jean Derome, a key figure in contemporary music. Dany Laferrière generously agreed to record certain quotations with his unique voice to punctuate Le Cri des oiseaux fous, a grand "improvisational" fresco bringing together five saxophonists!

Created as an element of the 7th edition of the In Vivo series, Le Cri des oiseaux fous was nominated for the Opus prize "Concert of the year: contemporary music, electroacoustic", in 2013.



Quasar: Marie-Chantal Leclair (soprano saxophone), Mathieu Leclair (alto saxophone), André Leroux (tenor saxophone), Jean-Marc Bouchard (baritone saxophone)

Guest Saxophonist: Jean Derome

Narrator: Audrée Southière

Author et collaborator: Dany Laferrière



Le Cri des oiseaux fous, Jean-Marc Bouchard
Les Mots, Jean-Marc Bouchard
L’Énigme du retour, Jean-Marc Bouchard
Rouge, Jean Derome *