Digital creation project


Quasar saxophone quartet and Jérôme Minière invite saxophone students to join us in realizing a digital version of the song "Dans un magasin”, written by Jérôme Minière, in a version for saxophone orchestra composed by Jean-Marc Bouchard.

Young saxophonists will have to record (audio and video) those sections of the score which are to be integrated in the digital version.

This project follows from the concert-event "Je ne suis pas un robot" produced by Quasar in the Fall of 2019.

The digitized version will be transmitted on the Web and, later on, incorporated into the stage presentation of "Je ne suis pas un robot".


Saxophonists of all levels of ability are invited to participate. Scores at different levels, from debutants to advanced players, are available. There are parts for soprano, alto, tenor, and baritone saxophone for participants to chose from.


Students can register on our web site:

They will be able there to download detailed Instructions, parts, and practice recordings.

Music students can also contact Quasar directly if they wish to participate with the saxophone section of their school.

What you will need

  • Your saxophone
  • Headphones
  • A device for recording and listening (phone, tablet, computer)


At any time, you can contact us at:




  1. Sign up on the web site by creating your account
  2. Download the scores and the practice recordings

Suggestions for preparing

  1. Identify the parts you would like to record
  2. Repeat slowly
  3. Listen to the recordings along with the score
  4. Practice with the recording



Make some tests to verify the sound and the image. Make sure you are in a calm space. Avoid putting yourself in front of a window.


Be sure to check your tuning. The reference frequency Is 440 Hz.

It is possible to download free tuning apps off the web.

2 methods:

1.    Record while listening to the recordings provided (suggested method)

You should listen to the recording in your headphones and play over It.

The recordings provided repeat the sequence, but you only have to record your part one time, no need to repeat.

2.    Record with a metronome (♩ = 150)

How to send us your recordings

Identify the recordings:

Example: Quartet1_Alto_YourName

  1. Submit them on the web site
  2. Upload the parental authorization form (If applicable)

Double-check that your video files are in .mp4 format!

Please take note that a consent form for the use of video material is compulsory for all students who have not reached the age of majority. The form must be completed and signed by the student's parent or guardian and uploaded with the recordings.


Do you have technical or musical questions?

You can reach us at all times here:


The parts for the theme and quartet 1 for soprano and alto are identical. You can only record the theme.


Several parts have a choice of octaves. Choose whichever suits you the best.


In general, parts get more and more complex. We suggest that you start from the beginning. However, you can always choose the parts you want to record, regardless of the level of difficulty.

You can also record parts on different saxophones.