Walter Boudreau

(1947 - )

Walter Boudreau is a much sought-after conductor for many Canadian and international ensembles and orchestras. A prolific composer, Walter Boudreau has to date composed more than fifty works for orchestra, ensembles and soloists, fifteen film and theatre scores and two ballets. A recipient of numerous grants from the Canada Council for the arts, he studies in Europe and the United States with Mauricio Kagel, Karlheinz Stockhausen, György Ligeti, Olivier Messiaen, Iannis Xenakis and Pierre Boulez. He was awarded First Prize in the first CBC National Competition for Young Composers (1974), the Jules Léger Prize for new chamber music (1982) and the Grand Prix Paul Gilson of the Communauté des radios publiques de langue française (CRPLF), Paris , in 1991.


For his work as Artistic Director of the Société de musique contemporaine de Québec (SMCQ), a position held from 1988 until 2021, Walter Boudreau received the prestigious Grand Prix 1991 of the Conseil des Arts de la Communauté Urbaine de Montréal (CACUM). In 1998, Walter Boudreau was awarded the Opus Prize for Composer of the Year by the Conseil québécois de la musique (CQM). Boudreau’s more recent awards include the Molson Prize (June 2003) given by the Canada Council for the Arts. From 1990 to 1993, Walter Boudreau was the composer in residence for the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and from 1998 to 2000 he served as an artistic co-director (with Denis Bouliane) of the Musiques au présent festival of the Orchestra Symphonique de Québec. In another joint venture with Denis Bouliane, Walter Boudreau served as an artistic director of the Symphonie du millénaire (Millennium Symphony), a collective creation of 19 Montreal composers which brought together 333 musicians for its premiere on June 3, 2000. The immense success of this garnered Boudreau an Opus Prize for “Musical Event of the Year”. Still with Bouliane, in March 2003, he set up the first edition of the international Montreal/New Musics Festival. His music has been performed in Canada, the United States, France, Belgium, Germany, Poland and Finland.