Louis Andriessen (1939)

Born in a musical family - his father, Hendrik Andriessen (1892-1981), is also a composer - Louis Andriessen studied with Kees van Baren, at the Royal Conservatory of The Hague and Luciano Berio in Milan and Berlin.

His work, inspired by Platonic philosophy (eg De Staat inspired by The Republic ), is diverse and has the particularity of comprising scores for saxophone (including Hout, tenor saxophone, marimba , guitar and piano, written in 1991).

Louis Andriessen touched all genres : first in the line of twelve-tone serialism and then in that of post- modernism, inspired by the minimalist music of American composers (especially Steve Reich) and polytonal or consonant harmony. He also worked for the cinema, and opera with director Peter Greenaway.

Louis Andriessen's works in Quasar's repertoire

Workers Union (1975)
Mouvement symphonique pour tout ensemble d’instruments pouvant jouer très fort
Facing Death (1990 to 1993)
Quatuor de saxophones (SATB) transcription de la version originale pour quatuor à cordes
De Stijl (1984)
Voix de femme parlée, quatre voix de femme et grand ensemble (incluant 5 saxophones)

Quasar's Next Concerts

February 29, 2020 - 7:30PM
CCRMA Stage, Stanford University , Stanford, Californie
March 6, 2020 - 2:00PM
CMMAS , Morelia, Mexique
March 8, 2020 - 2:00PM
Teatro del Centro de las Artes, Parque Fundidora , Monterrey, Mexique