Farangis Nurulla-Khoja (1972)

Farangis Nurulla-Khoja, a Tajik-Canadian-Swedish composer, holds a Diploma of Fine Arts in Composition (University of Gothenburg, Sweden). Having also studied at the University of California in San Diego with Brian Ferneyhough and Roger Reynolds, as well as at IRCAM, she lives by the criteria of the international life and follows the aesthetic language of world music. A musician, she works with the conviction that dance is the complement of music, and that language - particularly the language of poets - is above all a series of communicative sounds. For her, making music is a journey into the unknown, a search for sounds unheard and forms unseen.

Farangis Nurulla-Khoja's compositions have been performed in concerts and on International festivals of Contemporary music in Dushanbe (Tajikistan), Helsinki (Finland), Gothenburg, Malmo, Vaxjo and Stockholm (Sweden), Leipzig and Munich (Germany), Toulouse, Royaumont, and Paris (France), Osaka and Tokyo (Japan), Montreal, St-Irene (Canada), and San Diego (USA). She received the grand prize of the Abu Gazali Foundation in Salzburg (Austria) for her orchestra piece "Replica" in 2000. Her works have been performed by a diversity of ensembles and soloists, including ICTUS (Belgium), Avanti! (Finland), Atelier Vocal (France), Nytida Musik (Sweden), Gageego (Sweden), Pierre-Yves Artaud (France), Daniel Berg and the Symphony Orchestra of Musichögskolan, Symphony Orchestra of Gothenburg (Sweden), the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, Quasar (Canada), Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart (Germany), Alexis Descharmes (France), International Gaudeamus MusicWeek (Amsterdam, Holland). In 2005-2006 Farangis Nurulla-Khoja was a composer in residence at the Fondation Royaumont (France). As well as she has been collaborating closely with the Saxophone Quartet Quasar . They recently have performed her works Giuoco Piano for saxophone quartet and Tabula Rasa for saxophone quartet and live electronics. Presently Farangis is working on a new piece for Percussions des Strasbourg.

Farangis Nurulla-Khoja's works in Quasar's repertoire

Tabula Rasa (2007)
for saxophone quartet and live electronics
Oshiqi Pecho (2014)
Quatuor de saxophones (SATB)
Giuoco Piano (2006)
for saxophone quartet

Quasar's Next Concerts

January 23, 2020 - 8:00PM
Espace Aline-Letendre, Église du Gesù , Montréal
February 12, 2020 - 8:00PM
Cabaret Lion d'Or , Montréal
April 23, 2020 - 8:00PM
CIRMMT , Montréal